Grading Scale A-E

Grades are set using a national grading scale of six grades. Grades awarded are A, B, C, D, E and F – where A-E are passing grades and F a fail. The grade should express to what extent the pupil has met the knowledge requirements stated for each subject and course.

National grading scale Knowledge requirements for each subject and course

Knowledge requirements exist for all subjects at compulsory school and all courses at upper-secondary school. The knowledge requirements outline what is necessary for acceptable knowledge, and for the different grades. Should pupil absence mean there is not enough information to assess a pupil's knowledge in one subject, no grade will be given for that subject. This will be marked with a dash (-) in the educational record. Grade F and dashes will not be used in compulsory school, nor for upper secondary school for pupils with learning disabilities or education for adults with learning disabilities.

If a pupil risks failing to attain the lowest grade, E, it is the school's duty to investigate whether the pupil needs special support.

Knowledge requirements for grades A, C and E

Pre-established national knowledge requirements exist for acceptable knowledge for Year 3. In the school years and courses where grades are awarded, pre-established knowledge requirements have been set for grades A, C and E. Grade D shall be awarded when a pupil has met all the pre-established requirements for grade E and the majority of pre-established knowledge requirements for grade C. Grade B shall be awarded when the pupil has met all pre-established requirements for grade C and the majority of pre-established requirements for grade A.

Grades B and D

Grades B and D are established based on the pre-established knowledge requirements for the grade above and below. The grading criteria for grades B and D can be different between pupils. One pupil may meet certain pre-established knowledge requirements for the higher grade, whereas another pupil fulfils other parts. Both pupils can therefore be considered to have attained the majority of the knowledge requirements for the higher pre-established grade (i.e., C or A) and are therefore eligible for the higher grade. As this 'majority of requirements' is different from pupil to pupil, these knowledge requirements cannot be defined neither on a national nor local level.

Evaluation of 'the majority of requirements'

When evaluating 'the majority of requirements' the teacher carries out a comprehensive evaluation of the knowledge shown by the pupil. This is compared with the higher pre-established knowledge requirements. When doing such a comparison, the teacher should identify which parts of the pre-established knowledge requirements have been met by the pupil, and support this assessment using the aims and central content of the curriculum, to decide whether these constitute a 'majority' of the requirements.

Key terms

A number of key terms are used in the knowledge requirements and can be found in many of the subjects. To a great extent, these words take their meaning from the context in which they are used and it is therefore not possible to provide any general definitions. The Swedish National Agency for Education has produced commentary material for the knowledge requirements for compulsory school subjects. These provide a broader, deeper understanding of how the knowledge requirements are constructed. They are based in authentic evaluations of pupil materials from active teachers and describe ways in which a teacher can identify the evaluation aspects based on the key terms.

Senast granskad: 2013-09-10
Innehållsansvar: Prov- och bedömningsenheten